overheard in my classroom…

So working with kids is frequently adorable and sometimes uncomfortably awkward.  Allow me to share two such moments.

#1 – the other day I am teaching a class when this cute little tow-headed,  whiter than white bread boy (his name is Connor, I mean, c’mon, does it get any whiter than that?) yells to another little boy, totally out of the blue, in the middle of class, “Hey, Enrique! Why don’t you bring in burritos for the class?!?”

It was clear he wasn’t trying to be mean, and part of me wanted to make it okay, like to ask if maybe they were friends, and Enrique had actually made burritos before, maybe it was his well known specialty and not just that his name was Enrique… ..  but .. but… no.  Chances are it would have just got more and more awkward.  Now, whenever there is an awkward silence, I will just look at Pat and yell, “Hey Enrique!”

#2 So I’m working with a group of 8 year olds and we are learning about electricity.  Naturally I bring out my Tesla Coil.  And I tell the kids-pronouncing my words oh so carefully-that this is a tesla coil. However, despite my careful, careful pronunciation, the boys all start chanting with great relish:  “Testacle! Testacle!”

Try explaining that to a group of parents who just so happened to be walking by at that exact moment.

FML

Leave a Reply

